Home Muziek Iron Maiden kondigt 17e studioalbum ‘Senjutsu’ aan

[video] Iron Maiden kondigt 17e studioalbum ‘Senjutsu’ aan

Iron Maiden brengt op 3 september hun 17e studioalbum Senjutsu uit. Het is de eerste nieuwe muziek van de band in zes jaar. De plaat werd opgenomen in Parijs met producer Kevin Shirley en werd mede geproduceerd door Steve Harris. 

De band bracht vorige week de eerste single ‘The Writing On The Wall’ uit. Het nummer werd geschreven door gitarist Adrian Smith en leadzanger Bruce Dickinson. Bruce bedacht ook het concept van de video die tot leven is gekomen dankzij BlinkInk en voormalig Pixar executives en Iron Maiden fans Mark Andrews en Andrew Gordon. In de videoclip zien we de 3D-reïncarnatie van de iconische Eddie. 

Steve Harris: “We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book Of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds. There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort!  I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.” 

Bruce Dickinson: “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it  back in early 2019 during a break in the Legacy tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!?  The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised –  in a good way, I hope! “

1. Senjutsu (8:20)
2. Stratego (4:59)
3. The Writing On The Wall (6:13)
4. Lost In A Lost World (9:31)
5. Days Of Future Past (4:03)
6. The Time Machine (7:09)
7. Darkest Hour (7:20)
8. Death Of The Celts (10:20)
9.  The Parchment (12:39)
10. Hell On Earth (11:19)

Vorig artikelN.E.C. versterkt zich met Iván Márquez
Volgend artikel[Review] Scarlet Nexus – soms te ambitieus